Trekking to Hill Tribe Villages in Sapa, Vietnam

There is no other word to describe Sapa other than breathtaking. I know it sounds a bit over the top and very soap opera, but seriously, this place left me speechless. The scenery is unbelievably beautiful, and as usual, my photos don’t come anywhere close to doing it justice.

IMG_4056 IMG_4061 IMG_4069

I went on a three-day, two-night trek, in an all inclusive tour from Hanoi. I usually wouldn’t even consider a tour like this but I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got to Sapa, had I have just jumped on a bus and figured it all out when I got there. And I don’t know a single thing about trekking, so I thought I might as well just have someone else sort it all out for me. 

IMG_4079    IMG_4123

As is tradition, the overnight bus ride was a nightmare. I got about two hours sleep, and then suddenly they were kicking us out at 5am, into the cold and the darkness. The thing with these tours is that you never know what’s going on. In this case, we all waited around nervously with no idea where we were, where our hotel was and whether this tour company was even real. Just as we were starting to give up hope, a fleet of cabs appeared, ready to whisk us straight to our accommodation. Thank goodness for that.

IMG_4212

After a quick nap and a buffet breakfast of fried noodles and watermelon, we trekked to a nearby village that was clearly built purely for tourism. We followed that up with trekking back to the hotel for “free time.” It wasn’t the most thrilling day to say the least. Lots of shops, lots of pushy sales people, and not a lot of culture. Honestly though it hardly bothered me. I was too awed by the magnificent mountains to even care.

IMG_4081 IMG_4130 IMG_4152 IMG_4160IMG_4195

The second day was awesome. We slipped up and down 12 km of steep, muddy trails to reach our home stay in a small village.  Our host family barely spoke any English at all, but they showered us with delicious food and kindness, overall making our stay wonderful.

IMG_4179 IMG_4268 IMG_4107IMG_4276 IMG_4264 IMG_4265

The third day was the trek back to Sapa town. We stopped for lunch halfway, which is where I met the most adorable little girl ever (pictured below), and her equally cute kitten. She was so sweet, and usually I’m not at all interested in kids whom I don’t know, so that’s really saying something. She was so fascinated by my camera, posing over and over again and then wanting to see the photos. As we left, I gave her one of the many friendship bracelets that I’ve accumulated over the year and she was ecstatic!

IMG_4278 IMG_4279

And the scenery. Ohhhhh the scenery. My photos are an embarrassingly poor representation of it’s beauty, so I guess you’ll just have to go to Sapa and see it for yourself.

IMG_4228 IMG_4241 IMG_4242 IMG_4589 IMG_4253 IMG_4255 IMG_4471

10647216_10152371557502776_4543143178717757363_n
Click on this photo to view my Instagram!

 

 

Another ten hour bus ride and horrendous night’s sleep later, I was back in Hanoi.

2 thoughts on “Trekking to Hill Tribe Villages in Sapa, Vietnam

Leave a Reply

