Quick Catch-Up and Kanchanaburi

Wow. Turns out its pretty difficult to keep up with blogging regularly when I’m busy having fun and meeting awesome people 24/7. Who knew travelling could be such hard work? There’s still a lot more that I wanted to write about South Korea, but I figure I should just move right along and launch into Thailand, and save the rest of the South Korea adventures for catch-up posts when I get back home.

I’ve been here three weeks already, which is weird, because it feels like I was in Korea a much longer time ago. I am currently sitting in a café in Chiang Mai, enjoying an extremely delicious curry chicken panini, post horrendous hungover bus journey from Pai. Let’s rewind. I flew into Bangkok, and spent five days there with my friends Candyce and Carlos, who I met way back in Niseko. I had an amazing time exploring the city with them, and learning about their life as expats in Bangkok. I was in 100% non-tourist mode the whole time though, not taking any photos or hitting the top sights, but just hanging out. I’ll be passing through Bangkok again in July, so I saved all the touristy stuff for then. So, for now, I don’t have anything insightful to write about Bangkok, which leads me to where I (slightly regrettably) went next, Kanchanaburi.

I can’t tell you why I decided to go to Kanchanaburi, because I still have no idea. I went to the train station in Bangkok with every intention of booking a trip to Koh Tao, and somehow walked out with a ticket to this small town, three hours north-west of Bangkok. The main draw card for tourists here is war related history. It’s the site of the infamous Burma Railway, commonly referred to as “Death Railway” due to the large portion of labourers and prisoners of war who died whist building it. There are lots of tours available to visit various other war sites in the area, none of which I thought were worth it for me. Due to the extreme heat (40 degrees), I didn’t actually explore much of the town except for the area in which I was staying, which was the main strip of guesthouses and bars, which I found rather seedy and uninviting. I did see the Bridge over the River Kwai though, went to one of the night markets to purchase the famous elephant pants and witnessed a particularly amazing sunset as well. I also ate THE BEST PAD-THAI I’VE EVER HAD. Whilst there honestly isn’t a lot to do in Kanachanaburi, it was a good way to escape the chaotic mess of Bangkok, chill out and decide where to go next. But in saying that, I’m not in a hurry to go back any time soon. Getting out of there was a mission and a half as well, crammed in an overbooked mini-van back to Bangkok for four hours, that picked me up from my guest house two hours late. Oh well, that’s South East Asia for you.

 

River Guest House
River Guest House
River Guest House
River Guest House
River Guest House
River Guest House
Sunset
Sunset
Sunset
Sunset
Sunset
Sunset
The legendary Pad Thai
The legendary Pad Thai
Bridge Over the River Kwai
Bridge Over the River Kwai

IMG_2543 IMG_2544 IMG_2549 IMG_2554 IMG_2555

Chiang Mai adventures coming soon!

4 thoughts on “Quick Catch-Up and Kanchanaburi

  1. I’m gutted you didn’t love Kanchanaburi….I’ve been twice and love it although I totally agree on the seedy strip in town, it’s kinda gross. Enjoy the rest of your trip! L x

Leave a Reply

